Somerset Women's County Indoor Bowling Association

Somerset Women's County Indoor Bowling Association History

History of the Somerset Women’s County Indoor Bowling Association.


The Somerset Ladies County Association was instigated by Betty Walters and when they applied to affiliate to the English Women’s Indoor Bowling Association their application was refused on the grounds that many of the clubs were in the County of Avon. After appeals to the Minister of Sport and a great deal of heart searching and many meetings, Pauline Wiseman called a meeting at Donyatt Bowling Club on 14th August 1990 following which the Somerset Women’s County Indoor Bowling Association was formed. The following clubs resigned from the SCLIBA – Clarrie Dunbar, Donyatt, Ilminster, Minehead, Taunton, Taunton Deane and Yeovil and elected the following Officers – President Dorothy Allen (Clarrie Dunbar),Vice President Margaret Fellows (Yeovil), Secretary Janet Llewellyn (Taunton Deane) and Treasurer Jean Murrell (Minehead). A point of interest in the first year £899.00 was recorded as donations! Affiliation to the E.W.I.B.A. was approved followed by entry into the Atherley Trophy National Competition. This was celebrated by a 3 Rink Match v the E.W.I.B.A held at Donyatt Bowling Club on 17th November 1990. British Cellophane, Puriton and Victoria Street joined in 1992. The S.C.L.I.B.A. continued independently until it disbanded in 2009 after which more clubs applied to join the Somerset Women’s County Indoor Bowling Association with a steady increase of other clubs to date.

The Association was administered by a Council consisting of the Officers – President, Senior Vice President, Junior Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer and one Delegate from each club with no executive. This Council formulated the Constitution, dress regulations & badge design. The Council agreed that Donyatt Bowling Club would become the Head Quarters of the Association which continued to be so until Donyatt Bowling Club was sold in 2019. Our HQ subsequently moved to Victoria Street Bowling Club together with the Honours Board.

A Competition Secretary was appointed to run the County Triples & Pairs competitions introduced in 1991 and Double Rink in 1992. The SWCL initiated by Devon in 1992 included - Cornwall, Devon, Dorset and S.W.C.I.B.A.

County Badges and flashes were introduced in 1993 and achievement awards rules instigated.

The 10th Anniversary of the Association in 2000 was celebrated by a match vs the E.W.I.B.A. held at Taunton Deane Bowling Club. The Millennium was celebrated by a weekend tour organised by the 2000 President - Myra Childs to the Derwent Hotel in Torquay.

County Uniform change to White tops with Red collar and cuffs were introduced in 2000 with the addition of red Zipper Jackets. Official wearing of trousers was formerly agreed in 2009.

The greatest achievement to date was winning the Atherley Trophy National Competition in 2002 played against Cumbria at Thornaby Bowling Club in Stockton. Winners flashes were presented to players who took part in this competition.

The Association accepted the invitation by the Berkshire ladies in 1993 to play annually home & away for the Berkshire Lady President Hilda Clay’s Shield she introduced for this competition. This would take place at Whiteknights in Reading with 7 Rinks and in Somerset latterly at Taunton Deane BC with 6 Rinks. This competition was discontinued by Berkshire in 2009.

EIBA Ltd was introduced in 2009 replacing the E.W.I.B.A. and E.I.B.A. governing bodies.

Only clubs affiliated to the EIBA which our Association had were permitted to play for our Association which was eventually achieved by all clubs.

Our Under 25s Section has been very active over the years together with Annual English Representation in International Series some of whom have also succeeded in reaching

National County final competitions. Our Under 18 Mixed Triples Team were National winners in 2019 when this competition was first introduced.

Club membership of the Association has grown over the years and now reached 18 across the County.